Results of the 1992 (9th Annual) National Track Motorcar Races

held on Saturday, August 1, 1992 sponsored by the FRRS.

By Wayne Monger

The format of the NTMC is that each motorcar operator/owner operates 3 times from a standing start over a 300 meter (976 feet) length of track in an attempt to post a competitive time. At the end of the races, the best time from each participant is selected and is compared with others in the same class. 1st, 2nd and 3rd place ribbons are awarded with participant ribbons to all others. Due to popular demand, a "Women's Class" Exhibition division was initiated with great success and enthusiasm and will be continued in the future.

The 1992 NTMC had a total of 32 motorcars participating with a total of 39 operators competing. Due to the size that the NTMC has grown to, the 1993 NTMC will be modified to allow each participant only 2 runs each instead of three to cut down on the length of the competition. In 1992, the competition ran nearly 5 hours long instead of the usual 3 hours.

FRRS members that worked at the 1992 NTMC and made sure that it was a success were: Vic Neves and Gary Cousin as the P.A. announcers; Errol Spangler, Norm Holmes, Larry Hanlon, Hank Stiles and Ed Warren at the start line; Gordon Wollesen and Steve Habeck handling the timing at the finish line; Jim Ley with the radar gun at the finish line; Julie Anderson, June Anderson and Lynda Monger at the scoreboard plus Pat Cousin who designed and produced the Women's Division ribbons.

The next day on August 2, 1992, 31 motorcars (many of the ones listed below plus a few additional cars owned by the FRRS members that worked the NTMC) operated two round trips of 28 miles each on an FRRS-sponsored motorcar excursion over the Almanor Railroad at Chester, CA. To cut down on the time problems of loading and unloading motorcars at Chester, the motorcars operated in 2 groups of 16 and 15 cars each. The first group of cars was under the command of Vic Neves and Walt Ozanick, while the second group of 15 cars was under the command of Wayne Monger and Hank Stiles. The two groups met twice at the only siding on the Almanor Railroad 5 miles west of the UP/Almanor connection of Clear Creek Jct. Next year, this run will be an MOW run and will require MOW (ARRO) insurance for all operators.

The final NTMC results follow showing the best elapsed time: Class "A" Factory-built motorcars with 1-cylinder 2-stroke engines. (Fairmont M-Series and S-series cars)

- 1st Place Bob Mahan, Ventura, CA, 34.52 seconds. Fairmont S-2 built 1957.
- 2nd Place Wayne Monger, Benicia, CA, 47.21 seconds. Fairmont M-19 built 1941.
- 3rd Place Roy Gabriel, Sacramento, CA, 50.78 seconds. Fairmont M-9 built 1956.
- Class "B" Factory-built motorcars with 2-cylinder 2-stroke engines. (Fairmont cars equipped with "A-A" engines.)
- 1st Place Bill Banta, Turlock, CA, 42.68 seconds. Fairmont ST-2-AA built 1972.
- Class "C" Factory-built motorcars with 2-cylinder 4-stroke engines. (Fairmont MT-series and ST-series cars and others.)
- 1st Place Mel LaBoyne, Renton, WA, 30.78 seconds. Fairmont MT-19B built 1987.
- 2nd Place Gil Dominguez, Fair Oaks, CA, 32.40 seconds. Fairmont MT-19A.
- 3rd Place George Inness, Portland, OR, 32.68 seconds. Fairmont MT-19B.
- 4th Place Richard Brickell, Reno, NV, 33.06 seconds. Buda car.
- 5th Place Erik Young, Sutter Creek, CA, 33.09 seconds. Fairmont MT-19A.
- 6th Place Joe Nemmer, Sonora, CA, 33.40 seconds. Fairmont MT-19A.

Finishing 7th place through 23rd place in order were: Steve Alley, Don Massey, Tom Shelnutt, Gerald Marsh, a tie between Dave McClain and Dave Anderson, Glenn Hanson, Mike Raposa, Allen Hansen, Ron Allen, David Dewey, Vern Montague, John Cottingham, Glenn Beier, Don Connelly, Howard Hansen and Bob Lindley.

- Class "D" Factory-built cars equipped with 2-cylinder 4-stroke engines AND rubber tires. (Fairmont MT-series cars.)
- 1st Place Gary Boots, Paradise, CA, 25.48 seconds. Fairmont MT-19A built 1967.
- 2nd Place Walt Ozanick, Milpitas, CA, 25.65 seconds. Fairmont MT-19A built 1978.
- 3rd Place Joe Boots, Paradise, CA, 25.71 seconds. Fairmont MT-19A built 1967.
- 4th Place Tom Mercer and Dale Greenig, Sacramento, CA, 30.67 seconds. Fairmont MT-19A built 1970.
 - Class "E" Exhibition Class. Includes all cars that do not fall into the above classes, such as: All cars with 4-cylinder or larger motors, homebuilt cars, alternate powered cars, rail bikes, hi-rail equipped vehicles.
- Bob Beattie, Carson City, NV. 24.68 seconds. Fairmont A-8 gang car built in 1950 modified with a V-8 Ford engine upgraded with drag racing components.
- John Phillips, Oakland, CA, 32.96 seconds. Homebuilt car built in 1990.
 - Class "W" Women's Division Exhibition Class an unrestricted selection of cars was used for this competition.
- 1st Place Janet Dominguez, Fair Oaks, CA, 31.68 seconds. Fairmont MT-19A.
- 2nd Place Melony Evans, Palmdale, CA, 34.37 seconds. Fairmont MT-19A built 1972.
- 3rd Place Gayle McClain, Colfax, CA, 37.18 seconds. Fairmont MT-19 built 1981.
- 4th Place Pat Cousin, Redding, CA, 38.06 seconds. Fairmont MT-14 built 1984.
- 5th Place Carol Foster, Sparks, NV, 40.56 seconds. Fairmont A-3 gang car built 1953.
- 6th Place Becky Hawkins, Sparks, NV, 41.56 seconds. Fairmont A-3 gang car built 1953.

