# Board Members Unopposed The three board members whose two-year terms ex-

The three board members whose two-year terms expired July 1, 1991, were unopposed for reelection, therefore it was not necessary to mail ballots to our voting membership. Norm Holmes, Wayne Monger and Bruce Cooper are now members of the Board for another 2 years.

Several members expressed an interest to be on the Board, not because of any particular dissatisfaction with present Board members, but because they wished to have a voice in the affairs of the organization. Our Board meetings are open to any member, and the Board listens to opinions from visitors before making decisions.

WANTED

We could use a Public Address System for use in our museum shop building. If any member has access to a unit that would be available for donation or purchase, please let us know.

## Radio Communication

Our communications supervisor, Eric Rich, has gone through our radio equipment and is in the process of installing working radios in all of our operating locomotives. Gary Cousin, through his employer Motorola, has obtained a 25 watt base station, a remote radio for the snack bar, and two good hand-held radios for the operating crew at a good price. Good communications are essential for our operations and in case of emergency. Eric and Gary are the only persons authorized to "repair" our radio equipment. In case of failure or needed repair, please tell them or the General Manager.

### Around the Museum

The need for additional storage tracks has been partially solved by Ken Roller's track work. In just 5 days, Ken spiked down 300 feet of rail to extend No. 6 track parallel to the inside balloon track. An initial layer of gravel was first placed on the graded right-of-way, then ties were hauled from the stock pile in our dump track and rails placed on the positioned ties for Ken to spike in place. Others helping in the prep work were Bruce Cooper, Bill Evans, Steve Habeck, Dean Hill, Norm Holmes, Jim Ley, and Ed Thomas. Additional ballast is now needed before we can place the track in service.

Phil Webb, our roll-up door expert, came by and with Hap's help, completed work on the east No. 1 diesel house door. They also worked on east No. 2's door, but it is not yet operational. Hap and Norm made 2 trips to Reno to dismantle a large shelf unit from a warehouse and obtained 2 pick-up loads of plywood and 2x4's. Bill Evans immediately appropriated several sheets of plywood to construct a supply cabinet. Gary Cousin and Mardi Vincent also used some material to construct a sand-blasting booth, where we can recover the sand for reuse.

Group visits to the museum are increasing. On June 5, 1991, a bus load of visitors on a tour organized by Sports Leisure Travel from Sacramento stopped by, a senior summer school group from Feather River College came up for a visit and we expect at least 2 bus groups to arrive on Railroad Days.

## **New Lifers**

We have four new courageous people who have taken the plunge into FRRS life membership. They are: Mr. T. J. Day, Thomas William Clabaugh, Mark B. Freiberg, Rod Mortensen. Thanks gentlemen, you won't be disappointed.

#### **Donations**

We now have a steam whistle from WP 0-6-0 No. 154 donated by Gene Rogers. John Ryczkowski donated a number of WP 913 posters for sale in our Gift Shop. Owen Acuff donated his collection of railroad books and recent Trains Magazines. Owen gave us a complete set of Trains several years ago. Sid Smith donated 4 new caster wheels for our scafolding (much appreciated). William Thompson donated a WP feather sign from the San Leandro depot. Virgil Staff donated 2 Adlake markers, a WP medallion, number plate from WP 155, builder's plate from WP 6, a super heater plate, builder's plates from WP 25, steam gauge from a WP tug boat, builder's plates from WP 802A, 605, and 713, and CZ car plates from CZ 10 and 14. Chris Skow donated several boxes of railroad magazines and "collectable" paper. We thank you all for your generosity.

The following have made a cash donation along with their membership renewal to our general fund:

Mark Acuna Wallace Brown Everett Brown Ed Del Prete James Dias Robert Diehl Cliff Gerstner Garu Griffin Richard Holmes Werner & Rosemarie Lang Les Madden Peter Martin **Brian Matsumoto** Jim McCombs Alex Pancheco Ken Rattenne Charlotte Rodgers Michael Rumball Ralph Shafer **Ed Slintak** Walter Treanor Peter Watkins Walter Whitman Robert Wilson Steve Habeck. via a PG&E community service award

Thanks to you all.